{"schema_version":"secwatch.filing_event.v1","accession":"0001683168-23-002834","form_type":"8-K","ticker":"CPSS","cik":"0000889609","company_name":"CONSUMER PORTFOLIO SERVICES, INC.","filed_at":"2023-05-02T23:59:59+00:00","discovered_at":"2026-05-14T18:03:42.652907+00:00","generated_at":"2026-06-16T04:23:35.504807+00:00","sec_items":["1.01","2.03","9.01"],"event_type":"debt","sentiment":"neutral","materiality_score":0.55,"calibrated_materiality_score":0.55,"confidence":"high","headline":"CPS closes $332.9M asset-backed securitization backed by $369.9M in auto receivables","bullets":["Five classes of notes issued: A ($198.3M, 5.91%), B ($25.2M, 5.38%), C ($46.6M, 6.04%), D ($25.9M, 6.34%), E ($37.0M, 10.72%).","Senior Class A rated Aaa/AAA by Moody's and DBRS; weighted average coupon 7.17%.","Initial credit enhancement: 1% cash reserve plus 10% overcollateralization; step-up triggers to 11.50%/25.00%.","This is CPS's 47th senior subordinate securitization since 2011 and 30th consecutive triple-A rating on senior notes.","Notes are secured by subprime auto receivables; CPS will service the pool."],"urls":{"canonical":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001683168-23-002834","json":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001683168-23-002834.json","markdown":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001683168-23-002834.md","text":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001683168-23-002834.txt","edgar_index":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/889609/000168316823002834/0001683168-23-002834-index.htm","edgar_primary_document":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/889609/000168316823002834/cps_8k.htm"},"model":{"generated_by":"deepseek-v4-flash:cloud@v2","generated_at":"2026-06-16T04:23:35.504807+00:00"},"review":{"review_status":"machine_generated","human_reviewed":false,"corrected":false,"correction_note":null,"correction_timestamp":null,"superseded_by":null,"related_filings":[]},"source_grounded_claims":[{"claim_id":"580affdc4a64bbbbdc8c371e07185d16ef3d4666","claim":"CONSUMER PORTFOLIO SERVICES, INC. incurred debt of $332.9 million with CPS Auto Receivables Trust 2023-B at See table: Class A 5.91%, Class B 5.38%, Class C 6.04%, Class D 6.34%, Class E 1 maturing Not specified.","evidence_excerpt":"series of agreements under which Subsidiary purchased from CPS, and sold to CPS Auto Receivables Trust 2023-B (the \"Trust\"), approximately $369.9 million of subprime automotive receivables (the \"Receivables\").","evidence_source":"SEC 8-K Item 2.03/2.04","evidence_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/889609/000168316823002834/0001683168-23-002834-index.htm","confidence":0.95,"family_label":"Debt Financings","details":[{"label":"Principal","value":"$332.9 million"},{"label":"Counterparty","value":"CPS Auto Receivables Trust 2023-B"},{"label":"Rate","value":"See table: Class A 5.91%, Class B 5.38%, Class C 6.04%, Class D 6.34%, Class E 1"},{"label":"Maturity","value":"Not specified"},{"label":"Event","value":"incurrence"}],"fact_type":"debt_financing"},{"claim_id":"3822ca3ac7f3edad1453e32fe5ce38ca18067818","claim":"CONSUMER PORTFOLIO SERVICES, INC. entered into a asset purchase with CPS Auto Receivables Trust 2023-B valued at approximately $369.9 million (effective 2023-04-26).","evidence_excerpt":"On April 26, 2023, the registrant Consumer Portfolio Services, Inc. (\"CPS\") and its wholly owned subsidiary CPS Receivables Five LLC (\"Subsidiary\") entered into a series of agreements under which Subsidiary purchased from CPS, and sold to CPS Auto Receivables Trust 2023-B (the \"Trust\"), approximately $369.9 million of subprime automotive receivables (the \"Receivables\").","evidence_source":"SEC 8-K Item 1.01/1.02","evidence_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/889609/000168316823002834/0001683168-23-002834-index.htm","confidence":0.9,"family_label":"Material Agreements","details":[{"label":"Action","value":"entry"},{"label":"Agreement","value":"asset purchase"},{"label":"Counterparty","value":"CPS Auto Receivables Trust 2023-B"},{"label":"Value","value":"approximately $369.9 million"},{"label":"Effective","value":"2023-04-26"}],"fact_type":"material_agreement"}],"license":"Source filings: public domain (SEC EDGAR). Summaries (headline + bullets): CC-BY-4.0; attribute https://secwatch.observer"}