{"schema_version":"secwatch.filing_event.v1","accession":"0001731289-23-000275","form_type":"8-K","ticker":null,"cik":"0001731289","company_name":"Nikola Corp","filed_at":"2023-09-22T23:59:59+00:00","discovered_at":"2026-05-14T18:03:35.031673+00:00","generated_at":"2026-06-10T09:44:42.313083+00:00","sec_items":["1.01","2.03","9.01"],"event_type":"debt","sentiment":"neutral","materiality_score":0.65,"calibrated_materiality_score":0.65,"confidence":"high","headline":"Nikola raises $40M through Series A-2 senior convertible notes due 2024","bullets":["Sold $40M aggregate principal of Series A-2 senior convertible notes; net proceeds ~$39.8M.","Notes mature Sept 22, 2024; convertible into common stock subject to conditions.","Part of existing $325M purchase agreement from Aug 21, 2023; no additional sales expected.","No underwriter or placement agent; offering made via effective shelf registration statement."],"urls":{"canonical":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001731289-23-000275","json":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001731289-23-000275.json","markdown":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001731289-23-000275.md","text":"https://secwatch.observer/filing/0001731289-23-000275.txt","edgar_index":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1731289/000173128923000275/0001731289-23-000275-index.htm","edgar_primary_document":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1731289/000173128923000275/nkla-20230922.htm"},"model":{"generated_by":"deepseek-v4-flash:cloud@v2","generated_at":"2026-06-10T09:44:42.313083+00:00"},"review":{"review_status":"machine_generated","human_reviewed":false,"corrected":false,"correction_note":null,"correction_timestamp":null,"superseded_by":null,"related_filings":[]},"source_grounded_claims":[{"claim_id":"7fc39b7dae69fbcd245f60fbc9ce945f523d5b50","claim":"Nikola Corp incurred convertible notes of $40,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of series A-2 senior convertible notes with an investor at not specified maturing September 22, 2024.","evidence_excerpt":"On September 22, 2023, Nikola Corporation (the “Company”) expects to consummate the sale of $40,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of series A-2 senior convertible notes (the “Notes”) to an investor (the “Offering”) party to that certain Securities Purchase Agreement, dated as of August 21, 2023 (the “Purchase Agreement”), which covers the sale of up to $325,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of senior convertible notes, in a registered direct offering.","evidence_source":"SEC 8-K Item 2.03/2.04","evidence_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1731289/000173128923000275/0001731289-23-000275-index.htm","confidence":0.95,"family_label":"Debt Financings","details":[{"label":"Instrument","value":"convertible notes"},{"label":"Principal","value":"$40,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of series A-2 senior convertible notes"},{"label":"Counterparty","value":"an investor"},{"label":"Rate","value":"not specified"},{"label":"Maturity","value":"September 22, 2024"},{"label":"Event","value":"incurrence"}],"fact_type":"debt_financing"},{"claim_id":"7d7a8e18885754195aada9016b2ca49db3931be3","claim":"Nikola Corp entered into Second Supplemental Indenture with Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB valued at second supplemental indenture for issuance of series A-2 senior convertible notes (effective 2023-09-22).","evidence_excerpt":"The Notes will be issued pursuant to the second supplemental indenture (the “Second Supplemental Indenture”), dated as of September 22, 2023, between the Company and Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB, as trustee (the “Trustee”).","evidence_source":"SEC 8-K Item 1.01/1.02","evidence_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1731289/000173128923000275/0001731289-23-000275-index.htm","confidence":0.95,"family_label":"Material Agreements","details":[{"label":"Action","value":"entry"},{"label":"Agreement","value":"notes offering"},{"label":"Counterparty","value":"Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB"},{"label":"Value","value":"second supplemental indenture for issuance of series A-2 senior convertible notes"},{"label":"Effective","value":"2023-09-22"}],"fact_type":"material_agreement"},{"claim_id":"a1546fd3ea24f2ddaacdafb935fc69f06b5a9889","claim":"Nikola Corp entered into Securities Purchase Agreement with Investor valued at up to $325,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of senior convertible notes; initial tranche of $40 (effective 2023-08-21).","evidence_excerpt":"On September 22, 2023, Nikola Corporation (the “Company”) expects to consummate the sale of $40,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of series A-2 senior convertible notes (the “Notes”) to an investor (the “Offering”) party to that certain Securities Purchase Agreement, dated as of August 21, 2023 (the “Purchase Agreement”), which covers the sale of up to $325,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of senior convertible notes, in a registered direct offering.","evidence_source":"SEC 8-K Item 1.01/1.02","evidence_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1731289/000173128923000275/0001731289-23-000275-index.htm","confidence":0.95,"family_label":"Material Agreements","details":[{"label":"Action","value":"entry"},{"label":"Agreement","value":"notes offering"},{"label":"Counterparty","value":"Investor"},{"label":"Value","value":"up to $325,000,000 in aggregate principal amount of senior convertible notes; initial tranche of $40"},{"label":"Effective","value":"2023-08-21"}],"fact_type":"material_agreement"},{"claim_id":"fd22f5f9c4d4647b6d89aebe45849e50dffbf521","claim":"Nikola Corp entered into Base Indenture with Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB valued at indenture governing the senior convertible notes (effective 2023-08-21).","evidence_excerpt":"The Second Supplemental Indenture supplements the indenture entered into by and between the Company and the Trustee, dated as of August 21, 2023 (the “Base Indenture”).","evidence_source":"SEC 8-K Item 1.01/1.02","evidence_url":"https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1731289/000173128923000275/0001731289-23-000275-index.htm","confidence":0.95,"family_label":"Material Agreements","details":[{"label":"Action","value":"entry"},{"label":"Agreement","value":"notes offering"},{"label":"Counterparty","value":"Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB"},{"label":"Value","value":"indenture governing the senior convertible notes"},{"label":"Effective","value":"2023-08-21"}],"fact_type":"material_agreement"}],"license":"Source filings: public domain (SEC EDGAR). Summaries (headline + bullets): CC-BY-4.0; attribute https://secwatch.observer"}